top of page

Research in Practice

12/10/19


The research conducted today involved reading two separate articles on site specific sculpture. The first article, Site Analysis for Public Sculpture, discussed how Timothy Duffield, a landscape architect and sculptor, goes about assessing the designated location for a public sculpture. He takes the travel and movement of people, the location of utility lines and safety routes, and, significantly, the lines of sight all into account to guide what he designs for the space. I found the part where he discussed lines of sight quite interesting, and I want to explore that more before I settle on the exact placement height-wise of my piece on the side of the building.





The second article I read was on Martin Puryear's approach to two public sculptures that he constructed in the 80s. I found his comments on public sculptures role quite interesting. He mentioned that public sculpture should reference and engage the environment around it, and that public sculpture should be meaningful as well as accessible but also convey emotion/ feeling. I also was interested in his playful combination of folklore and historical imagery coupled with abstraction and design.





10 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page