top of page

Research in Practice

12/12/19


The Research conducted today was studio time working with metal as well as some reading. For my studio work, I cut out 9 12" wide Bison silhouettes out of 16" gauge sheet metal with a plasma cutter. One thing that I took away from this was more comfort and experience working with the plasma cutter. It's still a new tool to me.




The reading I conducted was an article by Will Nettleship called Public Sculpture as a Collaboration with a Community . It covered his process when approaching public sculpture, and hinted at site specificity and cultural/ historical relevancy to the topics dealt with in public sculpture. One of the things I took away from this was that I recalled Duncum's 7 principles and engagement with postmodernism as a contemporary practice. It made me think about the signifier/ signified relationship in art, and that made me reconsider all of the various animals. I think I want to stick with just two different animals as signifiers, bison and cattle. I think that the comparison of them as well as the greater number of them indicates more of a heard concept that shows the change over time as herds of bison, once the dominant, large prairie animal, have been replaced through agriculture and industry by herds of cattle.






18 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page